Meg McNicol

Age: 16

Where are you from

Columbiana, Ohio


How long have you been riding: 

I picked it up more seriously three and a half years ago, but have been around horses my whole life.


Why did you start riding

I was bored and wanted something “special” to do. 


What was the name of your first horse/pony? 

Cocoa


What horses/ponies are you currently riding/showing: 

Tre Awain Dare to Dream “Jessie” and Ty Wonder “Ty”


Does anyone else in your family ride? (If so, who) 

My mom also rides! My dad actually took riding lessons from my trainer for awhile, to surprise my mom, so they could trail ride together. 


Do you have friends at school that ride? If not, do they think it's cool that you ride horses or do they wonder why you don't do more mainstream sports? 

None of my friends are school ride, but they think it’s cool. They know why I don’t do “traditional” sports due to time constraints. 


How do you juggle your time to include riding and other activities?  

I also show market lambs and participate in my school musical! It’s tough sometimes, but I’ve learned how to manage. I try to ride twice a week, in the evenings. I work my lambs in the morning, and since the musical is over before show season, that’s not much of a worry! 


For the people that are riding on the show circuits- do you attend traditional school or online/home school? 

I do not ride on the circuits, but I attend a traditional high school. 

What is your favorite piece of tack and why? 

I love saddle pads! I have way too many! 


Is there a horse sport that you would like to try that is different than the style you ride? 

Reining. I would also love to exercise race horses. I already event and ride dressage.  


Do you board or keep your ponies at home? 

My ponies live at home. 


Do you know how to braid? 

Yes! I do all my own braiding. 


What you would like to accomplish as a junior rider? 

I’m happy just riding. I would love to go to Lendon Gray’s Winter Intensive Program in Wellington some year, but I’m happy with my pony regardless! 


What are you most proud of as a rider? 

How far I’ve come in three years. 


Do you see yourself riding after your junior years? 

I will definitely ride after I’m a junior. I am probably going to pick up my mom’s breeding program after she’s done. 




5 Fun Facts

1) I love showing livestock! Lambs are my favorite species to show, they’re the most hands on.

2) I’ve been to the Ohio State Fair with both my pony and my lambs. 

3) I do a lot of reproductive work with my mom. It’s tons of fun. 

4) I’ve also shown market hogs, market goats, steers, draft horses, and dogs. 

5) I travel a lot with my mom for Connemara stuff