Julia Day

A little about you...

  • Age: 14
  • Where are you from: Waxhaw, North CarolinaHow long have you been riding: 5 years What made you start riding: My sister had done it for a while and I picked it up from her. What was the name of your first horse/pony?  Pumpkin Pie aka Pumpkin!What horses/ponies are you currently riding/showing: I’m actually on the search to find an eq horse for the next season. Does anyone else in your family ride? (If so, who)My older sister used to ride for a few years and could still hack around.  

Friends, school and balancing activities...

  • Do you have friends at school that ride? If not, do they think it's cool that you ride horses or do they wonder why you don't do more mainstream sports? My friends think riding is a really special sport that involves so much more than mainstream sports, they all agree that it fits my personality perfectly. 
  • How do you juggle your time to include riding and other activities?  I go to a public high school while also balancing riding several times a week. It can be stressful if you’re not organized. Sometimes I have to change in the car going from school to the barn but we make it work.
  •  For the people that are riding on the show circuits- do you attend traditional school or online/home school?  I do not attend full circuits, but if I did I would stay at traditional school because I’ve always been told that I’m a student first and good grades will help you tremendously.  

More about you...

  • What is your favorite piece of tack and why? Saddle pads are my favorite because you get to play around with different colors to go with what you’re wearing that day. 
  • Is there a horse sport that you would like to try that is different than the style you ride? Such as reining, eventing, mounted games, racing, etc. Eventing has always been very interesting to me. Do you board or keep your ponies at home? I board. 
  • Do you know how to braid? I’ve tried but failed. I’m sure with practice I’ll get it right.  

Goals and accomplishments...

  • What you would like to accomplish as a junior rider?  I want to qualify for both the SCHJA and NCHJA medal finals (I live a few miles from the South Carolina boarder and can compete on their circuit as well as North Carolina) while also qualifying for bigger shows like the Maclay and Medal Finals. 
  • What are you most proud of as a rider? I was able to take a lesson pony with minimal outside show experience to TIEC and we ended up reserve champion and won the challenge class. 
  • Do you see yourself riding after your junior years? (College, turn professional, other??) It’s my dream to make a Division 1 college riding team or the SCAD IHSA team. Looking more long term I’d like to train and sell/lease equitation horses for ambitious A/AA circuit juniors.  

5 things people might not know about you...

  1. I earned my black belt in Tae Kwon Do in 2012 when I was 9 years old, shortly before I started riding. 
  2. In my room I keep a big whiteboard on the wall with a four year plan on what I will jump and compete in over my junior years.
  3. I take all honors classes in high school, I’m hoping my academic success will reflect just as much as my riding success for the D1 college scouts. I also keep a social media account specifically for posting my riding/competing success. (@juliaday1)
  4. I love dressing in nice, put together outfits to the barn because I feel you should dress the way you want to ride. 
  5. Aside from riding, I workout every day to ride stronger and better.