Callie Mae Sweeney

About you and your horse/pony

  • Age: 12 years old   
  • From Tallahassee, Fl   
  • I've been riding almost three years.   
  • What was the name of your first horse/pony? Peter Panda   
  • What horses/ponies are you currently riding/showing:  Peter Panda        

What made you start riding? Does anyone else in the family ride?

My older sister rides and I've been around horses my whole life but I did a riding summer camp a few years ago and I was hooked! My mom and grandmother did ride as well. 

Riding, school and managing your time

  • My friends at school do not ride and they don't know much about it but they do think it's cool!   
  •  I do a lot of dance as well as ride. Until recently, I also played piano.  I quit piano because I didn't have enough time.  
  • Sometimes it is hard to juggle dance and riding but we try to schedule around things. If I had to choose, I'd choose riding.    
  • I just started doing A shows this year but I attend traditional school.  
  • My big sister attended online school in high school so she could show more and focus on riding more.     

What are you most proud of as a rider

My pony was green and tough to ride so I'm most proud of working hard learning with him and becoming a better rider.   

More about you...

  • My favorite piece of tack is the bridle because you use it in all kinds of different styles of riding.   
  • I would like to try Fox Hunting and polo.  We tried polo during a camp this year and it was fun.   
  • Do you board or keep your ponies at home? Board   
  • Do you know how to braid? I don't know how to braid but I would like to.   
  • What you would like to accomplish as a junior rider? My goal right now is to go to Pony Finals.   
  • Do you see yourself riding after your junior years? (College, turn professional, other??) I would love to ride in college on a team and continue riding after college.

5 Fun Facts

1.I was a premature baby and only weighed 1 and 1/2 pounds when I was born. 

2. I'm also on a competitive dance team. 3. I have 2 dogs, a cat, a hamster, a bunny and 10 chickens.  

4. I dance on my schools dance team. 

5. I ride on an IEA team.