Alexis Bauman

A little bit about you...

  • Name:  Alexis Bauman  
  • Age:  13 
  • Where are you from: Woodstock, Illinois  
  • How long have you been riding:  since I was 2 weeks old 
  • What made you start riding:  my mom 
  • What was the name of your first horse/pony?  Jetter 
  • What horses/ponies are you currently riding/showing: I ride lots of ponies almost everyday. I am showing at Pony Finals my medium green, Lulu Davis, my medium, Two for the Bunny and my large green, RF Theodore.    
  • Does anyone else in your family ride? (If so, who) Yes, my mom and my brother.  

School, other sports and balancing it all...

  • Do you have friends at school that ride? No, but there are kids at my school who ride and show at local shows.  
  • What other activities do you participate in?: I run cross-country and track and I am in the band.  
  • How do you juggle your time to include riding and other activities? It’s hard sometimes, especially when we have a track meet or a band concert. Usually then my ponies get the day off. We are fortunate that our barn is in our backyard so I can go out and ride after homework is done.    
  • For the people that are riding on the show circuits- do you attend traditional school or online/home school? I will be in 8th grade at Creekside Middle School which is the public school for our area.     

More about you...

  • What is your favorite piece of tack and why?  My saddle because I worked hard to earn it.   
  • Is there a horse sport that you would like to try that is different than the style you ride? Such as reining, eventing, mounted games, racing, etc. I think Dressage looks absolutely beautiful.   
  • Do you board or keep your ponies at home? I am very fortunate that my barn is my home so I guess I keep my ponies at home.   
  • Do you know how to braid? I play with doing the tail but I am not very good.     

Goals and accomplishments...

  • What you would like to accomplish as a junior rider? I would love to win a top medal class someday.   
  • What are you most proud of as a rider? I have started most of my ponies from the ground up. They come to us usually unbroke.   
  • Do you see yourself riding after your junior years? (College, turn professional, other??) Yes, college is a must says my mom.          

5 fun facts:

1. I play the clarinet and would love to play the piano 

2. My favorite race in track is the 400 meters and being part of the 4x400 meter relay 

3. My favorite colored breeches is red 4. I enjoy making music.ly videos 

5. I like to garden.